Skip to content

Types of Spinal Cord Injury

Types of Spinal Cord Injury

There are two types of spinal cord injuries:

  • Complete lesion - describes a spinal cord that is absolute which results in no function, voluntary movement or sensation below the level of the lesion. Depending on the level of injury this can cause paraplegia (just legs) or tetraplegia (all four limbs). Both sides of the body are equally affected.
  • Incomplete lesion - means partial damage to the spinal cord, depending on where the damage is depends on the motor and sensory function. For example a lesion at the front of the spinal cord can result in the inability to feel pain, temperature or touch. Motor function and sensory problems (numbness) can affect both sides but be worse on one

Results after a spinal cord:

  • Hemiplegia - one side of the body affected
  • Paraplegia - both legs affected
  • Tetraplegia - all four limbs affected

To book an assessment or for more information please email call 0161 883 0066 .