Skip to content

Types of Multiple Sclerosis

Types of Multiple Sclerosis


Relapse remitting MS is characterised by unpredictable attacks followed by periods of months or years with no new signs of disease activity. The effects of the attacks may be permanent or may resolve. When deficits always resolve between attacks, this is known as benign MS.

Secondary progressive

This is the most common type of MS. Secondary progressive MS refers to symptoms of initial relapsing-remitting MS, who have a gradual neurologic decline between attacks without any definite periods of resolution of symptoms.

Primary progressive

Primary progressive MS is characterised when no resolution of symptoms is seen following an initial attack. A gradual decline occurs continuously without clear attacks.

Progressive relapsing

Progressive relapsing MS is characterised by a steady neurologic decline but also suffer attacks.

Multiple Sclerosis

To book an assessment or for more information please email call 0161 883 0066 .